Jonathan Nott, conductor
Christina Landshamer, soprano
Stefanie Iranyi, mezzo-soprano
Maximilian Schmitt, tenor
Tareq Nazmi, bass

Zürcher Sing-Akademie (dir. Nicolas Fink)

The Metamorphoses for 23 Solo Strings, written by Richard Strauss in 1945 as a commission by Paul Sacher, are the broken mirror of the dream of fraternal humanity that Beethoven imagined in his Symphony No. 9. Germany, that great nation of philosophers and musicians, had annihilated the civilized world by following the path of a few dangerous madmen. Nothing would ever be the same again. Belatedly realizing the situation of Europe, Strauss could only quote Beethoven and, in one of his most powerful works, weep over the ruins of his devastated country.

Richard Strauss

Métamorphoses, étude pour 23 cordes solistes

Ludwig van Beethoven

Symphony No. 9 in D minor, op. 125 ('Choral')
mercredi 10 juin Victoria Hall — 20h00 Appassionato
jeudi 11 juin Victoria Hall — 20h00 Espressivo
Subscribe !

En vous abonnant, vous profitez:
- D'une sélection de concerts par thème
- De tarifs avantageux
- Du choix de votre place

Découvrir les offres