Jonathan Nott, conductor
Alexei Ogrintchouk, oboe

Don Juan, Till Eulenspiegel, Ariane et Barbe Bleue, mythical figures illustrated in music by two orchestral masters: the dazzling Richard Strauss and the extremely discreet Paul Dukas, of whom the sole opera (presented here in a few symphonic excerpts) remains largely unknown. Richard Strauss’ lively Oboe Concerto was written in 1945 at the very end of his long life, during his lengthy stay in our country. It casts a longing eye back at an idealized 18th century after the horrors of the war.

Richard Strauss

Don Juan, op. 20, tone poem after Lenau

Richard Strauss

Oboe Concerto in D, TrV 292

Paul Dukas

Symphonic excerpts from 'Ariane et Barbe-Bleue'

Richard Strauss

Till Eulenspiegels lustige Streiche, op. 28, tone poem after Nietzsche
jeudi 12 mars Victoria Hall — 20h00 Espressivo Buy tickets SIG Fondation Leenaards
vendredi 13 mars Salle Métropole — 20h15 Grazioso Buy tickets Fondation Leenaards