Jonathan Nott, conductor
Yu Kosuge, piano

Don Juan, Till Eulenspiegel, Ariane et Barbe Bleue, mythical figures illustrated in music by two orchestral masters: the dazzling Richard Strauss and the extremely discreet Paul Dukas, of whom the sole opera (presented here in a few symphonic excerpts) remains largely unknown. Sometimes called the “modern Beethoven", the Japanese composer Dai Fujikura studied with Boulez, Ligeti and Takemitsu. In his Third Piano Concerto, Impulse, given here in its Swiss premiere, he explores a new sound space with sumptuous orchestral colours.

Richard Strauss

Don Juan, op. 20, tone poem after Lenau

Dai Fujikura

Piano Concerto No. 3 ('Impulse') (co-commande OSR - création suisse)

Paul Dukas

Symphonic excerpts from 'Ariane et Barbe-Bleue'

Richard Strauss

Till Eulenspiegels lustige Streiche, op. 28, tone poem after Nietzsche
mercredi 11 mars Victoria Hall — 20h00 Appassionato Buy tickets Fondation de bienfaisance du groupe Pictet Fondation Leenaards